Licence Fees

Licence Fees :

Licence Fees CCA offices as initially DoT Cells were created on 01-10-2000 with the expansion of the range of functions delegated to the DoT Cells, the nomenclature was changed to the Office of Controller of Communications Accounts, as filed unit of DoT. The Collection of Statutory levies in telecom sector like license fee and spectrum charges from the telecom service providers under section IV of Indian Telegraph Act, 1985 for providing various telecom services in the Bihar Service Area with effect from January, 2004.

The terms and conditions of the license prescribe the Gross Revenue, Adjusted Gross Revenue, Percentage levy of license fee payable etc. The licensee is permitted deductions from Gross Revenue and Adjusted Gross Revenue (AGR) is arrived, on the basis of which service provider is required to pay the license fee at the prescribed percentage basis and deposit it on self assessment basis, quarterly.

The CCA, Bihar Circle assess the SUC of TSPs of Bihar LSA on quantity basis the following activities for collection and assessment of Spectrum Usages charge are performed:-

  •   Collection of license Fee from all service providers viz UASL/CMTS/Basic/UL/ISP & ISP-ITs
  •   Carry out the verification of deduction claimed by the service providers holding UASL, CMTS, Basic, UL, and allow/disallow claims for deduction based on such verification.
  •   Assessment of License Fee payable with respect to decentralized licenses.
  •   Being custodian of Financial Bank Guarantees & performance Bank Grantees as prescribed under the license, their periodical review for validity and amount. It serves as securitization of telecom dues to the Government.
  •   Encashment of Bank Guarantee if licensing conditions are not fulfilled by the TSPs.
  •   Submission of periodical reports of Revenue collection to DoT(HQ)& updating of GR, AGR, Revenue collection in LF/WPF Software.

In addition to above, the Office of CCA is to ensure that dues of Government are correctly assessed with respect to license fee and deposited in the government account within the prescribed time period.

In furtherance to above, work relating to collection of penalties levied for subscribers non verifications & non-compliance of instruction of EMF radiation norms on Telecom service providers by TERM Cell and reconciliation thereafter with TERM cell has been entrusted to CCA office.

The details of telecom operators providing telecom services in Bihar Service Area are summarized below:

Details of the Operators
Sl. No. Operator (M/s) Category of License Service Area Prescribed percentage of License Fee.
01 BSNL(Basic & CMTS), Bihar Basic/CMTS Bihar 8%
02 BSNL(Basic & CMTS), Jharkhand Basic/CMTS Bihar 8%
03 Idea Cellular Ltd, UASL Bihar 8%
04 Reliance Telecom Ltd. CMTS Bihar 8%
05 Reliance Comm. Ltd. CDMA Bihar 8%
06 Videocon Telecom. Ltd., UASL Bihar 8%
07 Reliance Jio infocom Ltd., UL Bihar 8%
08 Vodafone Mobile Service Ltd., UASL Bihar 8%

License Fee Payment
1.   Due Dates for payment of License Fee
Sl. No. Period For the Quarter ending period Due Dates Last date of submission of documents
in support of deduction claim
01 I Quarter 30th June 15th July 15th September
02 II Quarter 30th September 15th October 15th December
03 III Quarter 31th December 15th January 15th March
04 IV Quarter Provisional 31th March Provisional 25th March 15th June

Holiday will not result in date of payment being extended beyond the 15th
2.   Documents to accompany quarterly payments

*   AGR Statement- Duly certified with an affidavit by representative authorized by Board resolution and General Power of Attorney.
*   Challan in triplicate.

2.   Short/delayed payment will attract penal interest as per terms of the license.
3.   Gross Revenue(GR):

The Gross Revenue shall be inclusive of installation charges, late fees, sale proceeds of handsets, revenue on account of interest, dividend, value added services, supplementary services, access of interconnection charges, roaming charges, revenue from permissible sharing of infrastructure and any other miscellaneous revenue, without any set-off for related item of expense etc.

4.   5.Adjusted Gross Revenue(AGR):

For the purpose of arriving at the AGR, following shall be excluded from the Gross Revenue to arrive at the AGR:

*   PSTN/PLMN/GMPCS related call charges actually paid to other eligible/entitled telecommunication service providers within India.
*   Roaming revenues actually passed on to other eligible/entitled telecommunication service providers and
*   Service Tax on provision of service and Sales Tax actually paid to the Government if gross revenue had included as component of Sales Tax and Service Tax.

Collection of License Fee During Last Three years
Sl. No. Name of Licensees License Fee Collected
2014-15 2015-16 2016-17
01 BSNL (Bihar) 0 0 400
02 BSNL (Jharkhand) 0 0 0
03 Idea 648218155 758100531 795984259
04 Vodafone 679971427 757963502 835146482
05 RTL 380020351 303751081 369494
06 RCL 105018502 49721914 6466120
07 Videocon 7428800 7892481 362489884
08 Reliance Jio Infocomm Ltd., 304951 1263581 1000000
09 Dream Plus 10805 120375 348731
10 Fast Net Communication 0 0 379513
11 Ortel Electro ISP Pvt. 0 0 5000
12 Acme Diginet Corporation 0 0 3650
Total = 1820972991 1878813465 2002193533

Verification of deductions claims

CCA, Bihar Circle, does the verification of deduction claimed by the service providers holding UASL, CMTS, Basic, Unified Licenses after allowing admissible deductions i.e. PSTN Charges, Roaming Charges, Service Tax, Sales Tax, claimed in the audited quarterly AGR are verified with the vouchers such as invoice/debit-credit notes, bank statements and other proof of payments. The deduction such as leased line and port charges, charges for infrastructure sharing, Bad debt, Emergency calls have not been allowed for deductions.
The status of completion of verification of deductions conducted in Bihar Circle is as follows:

Sl. No. Name of Licensees Year upto which deductions/verifications completed
01 BSNL (Bihar) 2017-18
02 BSNL (Jharkhand) 2017-18
03 Reliance Jio Infocomm Ltd., 2017-18
04 Idea 2017-18
05 Videocon 2017-18
06 RTL 2017-18
07 RCL 2017-18
08 Vodafone 2017-18